Koru Communication Tatau Rough Drafts

These were the first drafts that I created. The original Duoskin Tattoo communicates to other devices using NFC, whose tags comprise a chip that connects to a coil. I immediately saw the similarities between the coil and a Koru, a Maori spiral design.

DuoSkin
MIT Media Lab in collaboration with Microsoft Research

The Koru is a Maori symbol that depicts new beginnings, growth and harmony, taken from the symbolism of an unfurled fern leaf. It’s use here is meant to symbolize what I want to achieve with the Smart Tatau as a whole. “New Beginnings” as in the new beginnings of the Tatau Tradition through combining it with Smart Tech. “Growth” as in the changing of the Tatau Tradition to fit the new needs of the Pacific Islander community through acting as health devices. “Harmony” as in harmony with technology and western STEM fields that have historically undermined/excluded indigenous cultures like Pacific Islanders. The Gold and Silver are for the gold leaf and silver ink for conducting the electrical signals for the Smart Tatau. The Black is the insulating ink that keep our own bodies’ electrical signals from messing with the Smart Tatau.

Of course, these patterns don’t actually mean anything, which is something that I worked to improve on for my next drafts. These are more proof-of-concept than anything else

These next designs, I tried to focus on the traditional patterns of Pacific Islander/Polynesian Tatau and integrate them into the Koru spiral. I tried to integrate certain symbols that I believe would be best suited for the purpose of a Communication Tatau such as Shark Teeth and Nets to symbolize protection and interconnection between people that a communication Tatau would provide.

More Iterations. I tried to see what my new designs looked like with the gold and silver textures. I think they turned out really well.

Because Joints symbolize connections, this will be where the Communication Koru Tatau will be placed to signal to other devices or Tatau

Leave a comment